Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

> NOTICE

When posting about launcher issues, please include your OPERATING SYSTEM

> How to run AE on Linux or Mac, by mefistofeles
FujiQ
post Apr 22 2008, 09:40 AM
Post #1


Marketing Manager
Group Icon

Group: Pixel Mine
Posts: 1,000,002,022
Joined: 18-November 07
From: Austin, Texas
Member No.: 17



Hi!

Here is the way to do it I've tested and got it to work fine on both MAC & Linux.

Here are the supported systems:

VirtualBox for OS X Hosts (Beta 2; Intel Macs only)

VirtualBox 1.5.2 for Linux Hosts:

Ubuntu 7.10 ("Gutsy Gibbon") i386 | AMD64
Ubuntu 7.04 ("Feisty Fawn") i386 | AMD64
Ubuntu 6.10 ("Edgy Eft") i386
Ubuntu 6.06 LTS ("Dapper Drake") i386
Debian 4.0 ("Etch") i386 | AMD64
Debian 3.1 ("Sarge") i386
Univention Corporate Server 1.3-2 instructions
openSUSE 10.3 i386 | AMD64
openSUSE 10.2 i386 | AMD64
SUSE Linux Enterprise Server 10 (SLES10) i386 | AMD64
Fedora 7 ("Moonshine") i386 | AMD64
Fedora 6 ("Zod") i386
Fedora 5 ("Bordeaux") i386
Mandriva 2008.0 i386
Mandriva 2007.1 i386
Red Hat Enterprise Linux 5 ("RHEL5") i386 | AMD64
Red Hat Enterprise Linux 4 ("RHEL4") i386
PCLinuxOS 2007 i386
Xandros Desktop 4.1 i386
All distributions i386 | AMD64

if u dont find your system here try :

linux to windows : http://www.winehq.org/
Mac to windows : http://www.vmware.com/products/fusion/features.html

Have fun an play AE on all systems (IMG:style_emoticons/default/smile.gif) (IMG:style_emoticons/default/smile.gif)

Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
 
Start new topic
Replies
FourTwenty
post Apr 1 2009, 11:16 PM
Post #2


Advanced Member
***

Group: Members
Posts: 108
Joined: 17-December 07
From: Georgia
Member No.: 197



Update* Got it working on my own, wasnt closing the process totally. (IMG:style_emoticons/default/biggrin.gif)

I AM THE NEWEST ADDITION TO THE AE LINUX COMMUNITY
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Red Balron
post Apr 1 2009, 11:18 PM
Post #3


Advanced Member
***

Group: Members
Posts: 54
Joined: 1-April 08
Member No.: 516



QUOTE(FourTwenty @ Apr 1 2009, 11:16 PM) *
Update* Got it working on my own, wasnt closing the process totally. :D

I AM THE NEWEST ADDITION TO THE AE LINUX COMMUNITY


How did you manage to close the process totally? As that is the same error message i got lol
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

Posts in this topic
FujiQ   How to run AE on Linux or Mac   Apr 22 2008, 09:40 AM
reikoshea   Im also going to post the way to get it to run in ...   Apr 22 2008, 11:06 AM
reikoshea   Alrighty, So a new launcher is upon us, and new i...   Jun 13 2008, 08:02 AM
reikoshea   Wine 1.0 was just released. Anyone tested it yet?   Jun 20 2008, 07:33 AM
Austen the 1st   QUOTE(reikoshea @ Jun 20 2008, 07:33 AM) ...   Jun 28 2008, 05:38 AM
Seed   I had AE working in Gentoo Linux (the best linux d...   Jul 2 2008, 10:40 AM
reikoshea   Tested last night. New launcher works great using...   Dec 30 2008, 12:13 PM
Krazel   YOU ROCK <3!!!!!!!...   Dec 30 2008, 05:25 PM
reikoshea   Nice to know that me coming back added one more li...   Dec 30 2008, 06:23 PM
Krazel   I love linux, I use winxppro mainly but I have ubu...   Jan 6 2009, 02:29 AM
reikoshea   i have linux on every machine in my house (minus t...   Jan 6 2009, 02:45 PM
Krazel   Yus we should all be more Anti Microsoft srsly   Jan 7 2009, 10:37 PM
FourTwenty   Using Ubuntu and wine and trying the ALT+F4 trick,...   Apr 1 2009, 11:14 PM
FourTwenty   This may sound idiotic but it took me 5 attempts t...   Apr 2 2009, 11:09 PM
reikoshea   I talked to Zarq about linux when I was in Austin....   Apr 3 2009, 11:02 AM
FourTwenty   PWN!!! Thx for the assist. BTW Reiko ...   Apr 3 2009, 01:15 PM
reikoshea   I dont know of any porting packages for windows-...   Apr 3 2009, 01:38 PM
GrayFox   QUOTE(reikoshea @ Apr 3 2009, 01:38 PM) I...   Apr 3 2009, 02:22 PM
reikoshea   ubuntu is the easiest choice for someone without l...   Apr 3 2009, 03:03 PM
GrayFox   QUOTE(reikoshea @ Apr 3 2009, 03:03 PM) u...   Apr 3 2009, 04:57 PM
reikoshea   QUOTE(GrayFox @ Apr 3 2009, 05:57 PM) QUO...   Apr 3 2009, 05:00 PM
Zalin   My unbuntu 8.10 and wine ran the launcher fine wit...   May 3 2009, 05:12 PM
GrayFox   QUOTE(Zalin @ May 3 2009, 05:12 PM) My un...   May 4 2009, 10:42 AM
reikoshea   yeah, if you read above at my instructions thats w...   May 4 2009, 09:17 AM
reikoshea   thanks grayfox. and just as a knowledge transfer:...   May 4 2009, 10:53 AM
The Corrupt Kitty Box   I just tried to get on, first time in 2 weeks, and...   May 27 2009, 08:00 PM
The Corrupt Kitty Box   Well I can now get to server selection without doi...   May 27 2009, 08:10 PM
reikoshea   http://forums.pixelminegames.com/index.php?showtop...   Oct 28 2009, 08:51 PM
liamdawe   Just an update for you, can someone update the pos...   Sep 3 2011, 11:25 AM
Sir Tricer   QUOTE(liamdawe @ Sep 3 2011, 11:25 AM) Ju...   Sep 26 2011, 04:35 PM
japaez   so i was reading this post, and noticed the date, ...   Jan 2 2014, 03:25 PM
reikoshea   Well since I'm back, I'll check on it toni...   Feb 11 2014, 05:11 PM
reikoshea   So, here's what I did on Ubuntu 13.04 (Termina...   Feb 11 2014, 06:50 PM
NeoGico   can someone explain how to run the Pixel Mine Laun...   Oct 31 2014, 05:26 AM
OneEye   QUOTE(NeoGico @ Oct 31 2014, 06:26 AM) ca...   Oct 31 2014, 11:58 AM
NeoGico   Thanks for the reply OneEye, I'm guessing I...   Nov 14 2014, 03:54 PM
Arktiskman   Anyone knows how to get AE working on Ubuntu 14.04...   Feb 29 2016, 05:59 PM
japaez   Just to let you know I'm about to try with the...   Dec 20 2016, 01:39 AM
japaez   Got it working with reiko's instructions they ...   Dec 20 2016, 02:47 AM
UnclePa   Void Linux, Wine 3.7. winetricks ie7 Not much luc...   May 19 2018, 11:32 AM
reikoshea   Yeah, we're unfortunately in a situation where...   May 19 2018, 09:57 PM


Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 

Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 13th November 2019 - 12:37 AM